President Donald Trump issued a new executive order Monday temporarily banning all refugees, as well as people from six majority-Muslim countries, from entering the United States.

According to White House officials, Trump signed the executive order out of public view—a sharp departure from the way he signed his first travel ban order, which caused nationwide protests at airports before being blocked by the courts in February.

The new ban applies to people from Syria, Sudan, Iran, Somalia, Libya and Yemen, but not those from Iraq. The ban will not apply to people from the six countries with green cards or who already have a visa.

Despite the changes, immigration advocates say the new ban still discriminates against Muslims.

Seattle U.S. District Court Judge James Robart, ruled Friday against a request from several Democratic attorneys general to have the block on the original order carry over to the new version.

The new ban, which some legal experts have said avoids some of the pitfalls that hampered the initial version, now temporarily blocks citizens of six Muslim-majority countries: Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. Iraqi citizens, covered by the initial ban, will be allowed to travel to the United States under the new order.

It also halts the acceptance of refugees for four months, but does not indefinitely bar Syrian refugees as the previous order did. The new executive action is set to go into effect March 16.

The new order is set to take effect on March 16.

Revised Travel Ban by Syndicated News SNN.BZ on Scribd



Facebook Comments